The Clive Staples Award for Christian Speculative Fiction is an award designed to honor the year’s best Christian worldview science fiction/ fantasy/allegory/futuristic/supernatural novels published in English by a royalty paying press.

Nominations will be accepted from readers and a voting survey will be created allowing readers to choose the finalists. Then a panel of judges will vote on the year’s top novel.

Regarding the term Christian, the novel should show some aspect of or be consistent with a worldview holding to the basic tenets of the Christian faith, and be written by an author who holds to these same beliefs. Below are the matters of theology we consider essential:

  • The Bible is the only inspired, infallible, and authoritative Word of God and, apart from Creation, our only sure source for knowing Who God is, what the Gospel is, and what we must do in response.
  • There is one God, eternally existent in three Persons: the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit.
  • Christ is God in the flesh, born of a virgin birth. He lived a sinless life, performed miracles, died a vicarious and atoning death for sinners, rose from the dead, ascended to the right hand of the Father, and will return in power and glory.
  • Though God created humans in His image, the rebellious choice of the first Man resulted in a separation between us and God. We are now, by nature, sinful, rightly deserving of God’s judgment.
  • By God’s grace alone, through faith in the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus Christ, anyone may be saved from condemnation and restored to a right relationship with our Creator.
  • The Church, the spiritual union of all believers in Christ, is His body to which He is the head.
  • Jesus Christ will personally and bodily come again to reign over all things as Lord.
  • God’s people will be raised bodily and saved to live forever with Him in perfect joy, and those who die while continuing in their rejection of Christ’s atonement, will be condemned forever.

While non-Christians can, and often do, write stories consistent with or containing Christian truth, the books this award desires to honor are ones written by Christians that intentionally reflect, incorporate, or view the world in a unique manner because of some portion of the basic tenets of the faith listed above.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s